Upcoming Episodes

All episodes are at 7 p.m. ET

Tuesday, June 30 – Interviewing, Pt. I: The District Level

Tuesday, July 7 – Interviewing, Pt. II: Local School

Tuesday, August 4 – Engaging the Student Musician

Tuesday, August 18 – Music Technology and Online Instruction, Pt. I

Tuesday, September 8 – Music Technology and Online Instruction, Pt. II

Tuesday, September 22 – Educational Professionalism & Ethics

Tuesday, October 6 – Music Instruction in High School

Tuesday, October 20 – Music Instruction in Middle School

Tuesday, November 17 – Marketing & Advocacy

Tuesday, December 1 – First Year Teaching Perspective

Tuesday, December 15 – Quality of Life

Watch Previous Episodes of Mind the Gap

Student Teaching 2020: “Mind the Gap” 

How, What, & Why – a practical webseries for future music educators, presented by Yamaha. A live series for music education majors whose student teaching experience was impacted by the novel coronavirus, beginning in June and running until December 2020.

Participants will have opportunities throughout the series to participate in “mock interviews” with master teachers and principals from districts around the country. District administrators, music educators, principals, and fine arts administrators will make up the panels in each session.

Topics throughout the series will include: 

  • Rehearsal Pacing/Sequencing
  • Classroom management
  • Programming with more contemporary issues in mind
  • Interviewing
  • First year teacher challenges
  • Commissioning Composers
  • Arts/Music Advocacy (Social Emotional Learning)
  • Philosophy of Music Education
  • Non-musical challenges facing first year teachings

We hope this series will help student teachers “mind the gap” between their first classroom experience and student teaching amid COVID-19, and find support through guidance of a network of mentor music educators.