Generic filters
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in excerpt
Mike Pote
Mike Pote




Michael Pote was named Director of Bands at Carmel High School (Carmel, IN) in 2013 after spending 20 years serving as Associate Director of Bands. The band program at Carmel High School serves nearly 600 students with 6 concert bands, 5 jazz ensembles, marching band, chamber ensembles, a private lesson program, percussion ensembles, and 3 winter color guards.

Carmel High School’s Wind Symphony 1 performed at the 2005 Midwest Band and Orchestra clinic, the 2020 North Central Division CBDNA Conference, numerous state conference performances and clinics, and has been a 4-time participant in the Music For All National Concert Band Festival. Wind Symphony 1 was also named the 1999, 2013, 2015, 2017, 2018, 2019, and 2022 Indiana State School Music Association Concert Band Champions.

The marching band at Carmel High School has been a Bands of America National Finalist 25 consecutive years dating back to 1996 and were the ISSMA State Champions in 1990, 2001, 2002, 2012, and 2018. CHS is a 25-time Bands of America Regional Champion and was named Bands of America Grand National Champion in 2005, 2012, 2016, 2017, and 2018.

The Carmel band program recently received the National Band Association Program of Excellence Blue Ribbon Award and is a two-time recipient of the prestigious Sudler Shield.

A clinician for the Yamaha Master Educator program, Michael has presented clinics across the country including the Midwest Band and Orchestra Clinic, The Texas Music Educators Association Convention, the Boston Brass Summer Winds Seminar, the North Carolina Music Educators Conference, and the Arizona Music Educators Association. Michael was elected to membership in the American Band Masters Association in 2022 and in 2019 was awarded the Phi Beta Mu Indiana Chapter Band Master of the Year Award. Michael’s two wind ensemble method books, “Process” and “Ensemble: an integrated approach to the Yamaha Harmony Director” are published through Fannin Music Productions.